Medical Marijuana – Its Time Has Come

Standard

To date 20 states plus the District of Columbia have legalized marijuana for medical use http://tinyurl.com/y2tyn7g. The link I provided gives you the details by State of the State laws, fees, and possession limits of medical marijuana. As you are aware,  medical marijuana is also known as  medicinal cannabis and has been prescribed as a form of treatment and pain relief for the terminally ill and individuals suffering from chronic long-term pain.

There continues to be a lot of debate over the legalization of medical marijuana; Health advocates and legalization groups argue that marijuana is not only less harmful than legal substances such as alcohol and tobacco, but it has been proven to possess certain medicinal properties. A study conducted by John Hopkins University found “no significant differences in cognitive decline between heavy users, light users, and non-users of marijuana.” Some argue, that the use of marijuana really relates to the health problems it creates, like “addiction”, short-term memory loss, energy loss, and even the risk of schizophrenia.  Therefore, it should be treated as a health issue, rather than a crime issue. Lastly, the cost and time of police officers, judges, public defenders, prosecutors, juries, court reporters, and prison guards would be freed up to concentrate on more important things like terrorism, harder drugs, rape, and murder if marijuana was legalized.

Under the Federal Controlled Substances Act, marijuana is classified as a Schedule I drug. Schedule I drugs are considered the most dangerous class of drugs with a high potential for abuse and potentially severe psychological and/or physical dependence. ” it has been argued that medical marijuana is no different from standard marijuana. Those who are opposed to the legalization of marijuana also stated   “Drugs are addictive. They rob the user of free will. A drug user cannot make an informed and rational decision to continue using drugs because the use of the drug eliminates that user’s ability to think logically”.

A majority of Americans favor legalizing the use of marijuana. A national survey found that 52% of Americans surveyed favored  legalizing marijuana; this is indeed a positive change from a decade ago.

One response »

  1. I’m all for it. I am a person that suffers from many invisible chronic illnesses and pain and let me tell you first hand, it works and is safer than all these narcotics I’ve been put on over the years. I am not an addict, so therefore I will never become addicted. When I was younger, I smoked it all the time for recreational purposes. When I got older, married and wanted to start a family, it was no problem at all for me to stop. There was no withdrawal or unpleasant symptoms. Since I’ve become ill, I do on occasion use it for the agonizing pain I live with every day. I’ve got a few different narcotics sitting right here and they don’t even take the pain away at all. I heard on the news the other day that my state is currently pushing for legalization for medicinal marijuana. I only use it at night to get some sleep, otherwise the pain keeps me awake for days at a time. Just wanted to say that I am all in favor of legalizing it. Those who aren’t sick, have no idea what the benefits are for those of us who are.:)

Leave a Reply

